Premiership: Leicester Tigers 33-31 London Irish – hosts hang on for tense win

Premiership: Leicester Tigers 33-31 London Irish - hosts hang on for tense win

Victory against London Irish moves Leicester Tigers into the top half of the Premiership table
Leicester: (26) 33
Tries: Montoya, Wigglesworth, Potter, Reffell, Wiese Cons: Burns 4
London Irish: (14) 31
Tries: Ratuniyarawa, Penalty, Rogerson, Hassell-Collins, Pearson Cons: Jackson 2

Leicester Tigers held on for a tense victory against bottom side London Irish in a 10-try Premiership thriller.

Julian Montoya, Richard Wigglesworth, Harry Potter and Tommy Reffell scores put Tigers 26-14 up at the break, with Api Ratuniyarawa’s touchdown and a penalty try keeping Irish in touch.

Second-half Matt Rogerson and OIlie Hassell-Collins tries restored parity.

Paddy Jackson’s failure to convert Tom Pearson’s try after Jasper Wiese edged Tigers ahead proved to be decisive.

More to follow.

Leicester Tigers: Watson; Ashton, Potter, Scott, Nadolo; Burns, Wigglesworth; Whitcombe, Montoya, Cole; Martin, Green, Liebenberg, Reffell, Cracknell.

Replacements: Clare, Van Wyk, Heyes, O. Chessum, Wiese, Edwards, Atkinson, Porter.

London Irish: Parton; Loader, Joseph, Janse Van Rensburg, Hassell-Collins; Jackson, Powell; Fa’aso’o, Rogerson, Pearson; Ratuniyarawa, Munga, Chawatama, Creevy, Gigena.

Replacements: Willemse, Hoskins, Fischetti, Caulfield, Gonzalez, Cunningham-South, White, Morisi.

Referee: Anthony Woodthorpe.

Source link

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *