South Africa v Wales: Etzebeth to win 100th cap as Springboks ring changes

South Africa v Wales: Etzebeth to win 100th cap as Springboks ring changes

Eben Etzebeth and Wales lock Will Rowlands have started both Tests in the series
Venue: DHL Stadium, Cape Town Date: Saturday, 16 July Kick-off: 16:05 BST
Coverage: Live radio commentary on BBC Radio Wales Extra – available via BBC Sounds, 882 MW and BBC Sport Online, Radio Cymru plus live text and match report on the BBC Sport website

Lock Eben Etzebeth will win his 100th cap as South Africa make 10 changes for the deciding Test against Wales in Cape Town on Saturday.

Etzebeth, half-backs Handre Pollard and Jaden Hendrikse, prop Trevor Nyakane and flanker Pieter-Steph du Toit are the only five to retain their places.

Hooker Bongi Mbonambi will win his 50th cap in the third Test.

Head coach Jacques Nienaber changed 14 players for the second Test in Bloemfontein, which Wales won 13-12.

Prop Nyakane switches from tight-head to loose-head prop in a further positional alteration, while Hendrikse is again preferred to Faf de Klerk at scrum-half.

Eleven Springboks players in the starting side for the Cape Town decider began the 2019 World Cup final in Japan, when South Africa defeated England.

“We selected a team and player combinations that we think will be the best for this specific game,” said Nienaber.

“We had an honest discussion with the players telling them what we require from them this weekend.

“We pointed out from the outset Wales will be desperate and they showed that in the last two weeks.

“We are expecting another hard grind against them and the fact that they will be playing for their first series victory ever in South Africa will make them even more desperate. We know it will be an epic battle.

“We are playing in what is essentially a final for us.”

Etzebeth, who made his Springbok debut in June 2012 against England, will become the seventh player to reach the milestone, following Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana, Tendai Mtawarira, John Smit, Jean de Villiers and Percy Montgomery.

“We are very proud of Eben and Bongi for their achievements, although it would be remiss of us as a team for that to out-shadow the fact we need to win on Saturday to seal the series,” added Nienaber.

“That said, Eben and Bongi have been true stalwarts to Springbok rugby, and we hope we can make this a special occasion for them. No-one wants to remember losing their 100th or 50th Test.”

South Africa side to face Wales: Damian Willemse; Cheslin Kolbe, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi; Handre Pollard, Jaden Hendrikse; Trevor Nyakane, Bongi Mbonambi, Frans Malherbe; Eben Etzebeth, Lood de Jager; Siya Kolisi (capt), Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jasper Wiese,

Replacements: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Franco Mostert, Kwagga Smith, Elrigh Louw, Faf de Klerk, Willie le Roux.

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

Source link

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *