Australia v England: Eddie Jones names squad for three-Test series in July

Five South African sides to play in European competition next season

Billy Vunipola and Danny Care have been named alongside eight uncapped players in England’s squad for their three-Test tour in Australia next month.

Harlequins number eight Alex Dombrandt is injured so Vunipola, who last played in the 2021 Six Nations, returns.

Scrum-half Care is named but England’s most capped male player, Ben Youngs, does not travel with the squad.

The first Test is in Perth on 2 July, followed by matches in Brisbane on 9 July and Sydney on 16 July.

Care, 35, won the last of his 84 caps in 2018, but featured for England in the non-cap game against the Barbarians at Twickenham yesterday.

England were comfortably beaten 52-21 by 14-man Barbarians at Twickenham on Sunday in their final game before touring Australia this summer.

In 2016, with Eddie Jones in charge, England won all three matches in Australia to complete a series whitewash. It was the first 3-0 series win by a touring side in Australia since South Africa in 1971.

Henry Slade (shoulder), Manu Tuilagi (knee), Sam Simmonds (hip) and Kyle Sinckler (back) are all unavailable, as are Louis Lynagh, George Furbank, Anthony Watson (all calf), Alex Dombrandt (knee) and George Ford (ankle).

The eight uncapped players in the squad are Patrick Schickerling of Exeter Chiefs, London Irish duo Henry Arundell and Will Joseph, Northampton Saints’ Fraser Dingwall and Tommy Freeman, Leicester Tigers’ Guy Porter and Jack van Poortvliet, along with Jack Walker of Harlequins.

England squad:

Forwards: Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints), Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks), Patrick Schickerling (Exeter Chiefs), Will Stuart (Bath Rugby), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Jack Walker (Harlequins), Jack Willis (Wasps).

Backs: Henry Arundell (London Irish), Danny Care (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints), George Furbank (Northampton Saints), Will Joseph (London Irish), Joe Marchant (Harlequins), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers), Harry Randall (Bristol Bears), Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers), Marcus Smith (Harlequins), Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers).

More to follow.

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

Source link

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *